Dakar 2020: Ricky Brabec Scores Historic Win For Honda As Sainz and Karginov Join Winners Circle

Tinged with sadness due to the death of Paulo Goncalves, the first Saudi Arabian edition of the Dakar Rally comes to a close with a bit of history made as well


Everything must come to an end, right? That is exactly what happened with the KTM factory team’s incredible 18-year streak of winning the Dakar Rally. By taking the overall win in the bike category Ricky Brabec gave Honda their first overall victory in the Dakar Rally since 1989. It was also the first time since the 2000 edition of the event that a manufacturer other than KTM took the win in the bike category.



In the car category, the closely fought battle between X-Raid Mini teammates Carlos Sainz, Stephane Peterhansel and Toyota’s Nasser Al-Attiyah came to a conclusion with Sainz winning his third career win at the Dakar Rally. Sainz’s overall lead over Al-Attiyah at the end of today’s 167km special stage that ran from Haradh to Qiddiya was just six minutes and 21 seconds. Peterhansel was just under ten minutes behind Sainz overall. The car category’s most illustrious rookie, former two-time F1 champion Fernando Alonso, finished 13th overall.



The mighty Kamaz team took its fourth consecutive overall win in the truck category with Andrey Karginov winning ahead of teammate Anton Shibalov and Maz’s Siarhei Viazovich. This was Kamaz’s 17th overall win in the truck category since the 1996 edition of the Dakar Rally. It has been the exception, rather than the norm for the Russian truck manufacturer to come out second best at the Dakar Rally or other cross-country rally events like the Silk Way Rally or the Africa Eco Race.

Add Your Comments

Add your comment here