Zigwheels Home

Walavalkar is Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 champion

by Niharika Ghorpade Posted on 03 Dec 20125,135 Views1 Comments

The Volkswagen Polo R Cup grand finale was held as part of the Sidvin Festival of Speed at the Buddh International Circuit on December 1-2, 2012



Ameya Walavalkar 2012 VW Polo R Cup Champion


Round 6 of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2012 was won by Ameya Walavalkar followed by South African guest driver Jeffrey John Kruger and Avdumber Hede. Ameya finished 0.745 second ahead of pole sitter Jeffrey who led the race till the last lap when he got overtaken by Ameya.


Ameya said, “Jeffrey set the benchmark yesterday but I was lucky to get ahead of Avdumber at the start which set the tone for the rest of the race. I kept up with Jeffrey and finally got past him on the last lap.”



Prashant Tharani Singh in lead, Race 2, Round 6, VW Polo R Cup 2012


Race 2 was won by pole sitter Prashanth Tharani Singh  followed by Munjal Savla in second and Jeffery John Kruger in third. It was Prashant’s his first race of the season, and he said, “I am really happy to win my first race especially at the BIC. This circuit is brilliant to drive on and really challenging. The start was crucial and once I got ahead, all I wanted to do was set consistent laps and retain the lead. This is the perfect ending to a good season.” 


Ameya Walavalkar won the 2012 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Championship with 476 points, ahead of A Sandeep Kumar with 381 points and Avdumber Hede, who was third with 355 points. 


Post Your Comment

Do you like this story?

Walavalkar, Dharkar dominate Round 3 of VW Polo R Cup 2012

by Words and Pictures: Ravi Ved

Ameya Walavalkar and Mihir Dharkar win Races 1...

2011 Volkswagen Polo R Cup - Round 6 : Race Highlights!

by Kunal Khadse

The final round of the 2011 Volkswagen Polo R Cup...

Mercedes AMG Driving Academy: Experience

by Anand Mohan

What's it like to drive four properly fast...


Honda Mobilio: Special Coverage

Honda makes its entry into the MPV segment with the Mobilio. This 7-seater will be offered with two...

2014 Toyota Corolla Altis: Special Coverage

The 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis, in its 11th generation, has been launched in India starting at Rs...


Read Next Story