Button wins 2012 Australian Grand Prix – Formula 1
Zigwheels Home

Home » Formula1» News» Button wins 2012 Australian Grand Prix

View all
View all

Button wins 2012 Australian Grand Prix

by Ravi Ved Pics: Dppi Posted on April 16, 2012 18:33 IST 279 Views

After prolonged pre-season testing , the 2012 season of Formula 1 finally gets flagged off with the Australian Grand Prix, where Jenson Button drove a brilliant race to secure a textbook start to finish victory


Button wins 2012 Australian Grand Prix



Button’s Third victory in Australia

As the red lights went off, Button had a brilliant start from the front row of the grid and immediately moved into the lead after overtaking pole sitter Lewis Hamilton on C1. Except for a brief period when the Briton was in the pits for a routine tyre change and his team-mate took the lead, Button lead the way right upto the finish line to record his third win at the Australian Grand Prix. McLaren’s decision to call both their cars into the pit in the same lap shortly put reigning champion Sebastian Vettel into the lead. Meanwhile, Vitaly Petrov’s Caterham came to a halt at the start/finish straight, which prompted the first appearance of the safety car. Red Bull tried to take advantage of the situation and called Vettel into the pits but unfortunately for the two time champion he had already lost his lead to McLaren’s #3 car. A perfect restart after the Safety car drove into the pits and Button was on his way to victory without being threatened by anyone during the course of the race.



Lewis Hamiltonat the 2012 Australian grand prix


Hamilton’s bad luck

Qualifying on pole was the only stroke of god luck for Hamilton throughout the race weekend. A bad start off the line and he saw his team-mate overtake him in the first corner of Lap1, getting stuck behind Sergio Perez’s Sauber almost four laps, and Vettel re-joining the race ahead of him after pitting during the safety car period, all leading to two dropped places for the 2008 champion.



Pastor Maldonado at the 2012 Australian grand prix


Battle for fifth

Although Fernando Alonso started from 12th place, the Spanish driver took the chequered flag in fifth which seemed unlikely after the qualifying session. But it wasn’t an easy drive for him, constant pressure from Pastor Maldononado meant that Alonso had pace faster than the Williams driver. The Venezuelan was constantly gaining on Alonso but was trying too hard to overtake the Ferrari for a fifth place fifth place finish. In the last lap of the race, while trying to close in further on Alonso’s Ferrari, Maldonado hit a curb hard and crashed into the side walls, leaving him with no points at the end of the race.



Felipe Massa at the 2012 Australian grand prix


Felipe Massa continued his crashing habits as this time around he crashed into Bruno Senna on lap 16 to end his drive in the race. Kamui Kobayashi and Kimi Raikkonen raced well to secure sixth and seventh place, after starting the race in 13th and 17th respectively. Sergio Perez stole the limelight with his eighth place finish having started the race in 22nd place after a gearbox change.

Button’s win at the Australian Grand Prix was not his first at the venue but the Briton will surely hope that the record that has been established over the past six seasons in which the winner of the Australian Grand Prix has gone on to win the title five times, remains unbroken.

Post Your Comment

Do you like this story?

Readers' opinions ( )
Post a Comment

Have something to say? Post your comment
Comments are moderated and will be allowed if they are about the topic and not abusive.
Characters remaining (1500)

Will be displayed

Will not be displayed
2 + 8 =
Please answer this simple math question.