Jordan King reigns supreme in MRF Delhi Championship – Formula 1
Zigwheels Home

Home » Formula1» India-F1» Jordan King reigns supreme in MRF Delhi Championship

View all
View all

Jordan King reigns supreme in MRF Delhi Championship

by TNN Posted on October 31, 2011 11:57 IST 657 Views

As the big F1 race took centrestage, some supporting acts too quietly shared the limelight.


Austrian Lucas Auer was in a league of his own in the JK Racing Asia series while British driver Jordan King's consistency gave him the two-race MRF Delhi Championship title on Sunday. The duo stood out among the many talented youngsters who drove their hearts out at the support races to the Airtel Indian GP at the Buddh International Circuit.

Auer of Team Euro international seemed perfectly at home, with the Austrian teenager dominating completely. Auer had won Race 1 on Saturday and with the grand double here, he has amassed 235 points in the championship table, increasing his lead in the title race to 32 points over his nearest rival, Malaysian Afiq Ikhwan Yazid of Team Meritus.

Ikhwan, who finished second, had a great start to the race, overtaking Auer's Italian teammate Lorenzo Camplese in the first corner. But the Malaysian just couldn't catch Auer, who increased his advantage with every lap. Malaysian Irfan Ilyas benefited from the dogfight between Nabil Jeffri and Camplese to take third place.






The Indians on the grid were never in contention for a podium finish with Akhil Khushlani of Meritus and Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing coming out with standout performances.

Khushlani, who is making a comeback in the series after a year's gap, finished ninth while Vishnu made his guest debut here a memorable one with a tenth place finish after starting 14th.


The other local drivers on the grid - Sarosh Hataria, Rahil Noorani, Sandeep Kumar, Mohit Ahuja, Shashank Ravishankar and Raj Bharath - all completed the race, adding valuable miles and international experience under their belt.

In the MRF championship, King led a one-two finish for Team Sidwin in Race 2 on Sunday while Race 1 winner Nick Percat crashed out in the opening lap.

Gaurav Gill, who was running fourth for most part of the race, was unlucky as he went wide and lost a couple of positions in the last corner of the final lap. The multiple national rally champion finished sixth as fellow Indian Zaamin Jaffer took advantage of his mistake to take fifth place. Ashwin Sundar (7th) was the other driver in the top-10.


Post Your Comment

Do you like this story?

Readers' opinions ( )
Post a Comment

Have something to say? Post your comment
Comments are moderated and will be allowed if they are about the topic and not abusive.
Characters remaining (1500)

Will be displayed

Will not be displayed
0 + 10 =
Please answer this simple math question.