Vettel makes it three in a row! – Formula 1
Zigwheels Home

Home » Formula1» Features» Vettel makes it three in a row!

View all
View all

Vettel makes it three in a row!

by Ravi Ved Photos: DPPI Posted on November 26, 2012 1:19 IST 1,958 Views

After a dramatic finale at Interlagos , Sao Paulo, Sebastian Vettel takes the third consecutive championship title of his career just three points ahead of second placed Fernando Alonso


Sebastian Vettel - 2012 F1 Champion



The 2012 season of Formula 1 was off to a magnificent start with seven different drivers winning the first seven races. And it has now come to an even spectacular end with Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso fighting it out for top honours right up till the final lap of the last race of the season in Brazil.

With no lucid leader in the first half, it was clear that the remainder of the season was going to be a nail biting one. Despite Lewis Hamilton suffering from major reliability issues with his McLaren MP4-27, Vettel troubled by alternator problems and Alonso trying to push the ineffectual F2012 to its limits, through the season we saw exactly what champions are made of.



Fernando Alonso - Runner-up of the 2012 F1



Three retirements post the mid-season break excluding the final race in Brazil put Hamilton out of contention of the championship title, leaving Vettel and Alonso to settle the championship battle between themselves. Alonso drove splendidly to finish on the podium in seven out of the final eight races but that wasn’t good enough to beat the reigning champion who won four consecutive races from Singapore to India to change the course of the championship. Consistent performances from both the drivers ensured that the championship remained gripping with Vettel leading by just 13-points ahead of the Brazilian Grand Prix. The mathematics were against Alonso and his second place finish in the final race was not good enough to dethrone Vettel who despite a sixth place finish grabbed the championship title to become the youngest three-time world champion. Also read: The 2012 Formula One Championship is down to the wire

Having said that, Kimi Raikkonen, Pastor Maldonado and Nico Rosberg's win, Sergio Perez's podiums and a lot of other surprises and superior performances from drivers across the grid; made the 2012 one of the most entertaining seasons in the history of Formula 1.

Post Your Comment

Do you like this story?

Readers' opinions ( )
Post a Comment

Have something to say? Post your comment
Comments are moderated and will be allowed if they are about the topic and not abusive.
Characters remaining (1500)

Will be displayed

Will not be displayed
4 + 10 =
Please answer this simple math question.